PDA

View Full Version : Stick Edgers

dpld
01-20-2012, 08:59 PM
i have been doing this for some time now and for a few years i have seen them but never actually used one and i am curious if anyone here owns one or ever used one before.

they seem like they can be a handy tool for sidewalks and the few times i have seen them they also look like they handle the task pretty quick.

i am considering trying them out this spring and my question would be, are they durable? do they do a good job compared to a traditional sidewalk edger?

any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

TiedemanLLC
01-20-2012, 09:27 PM
i have been doing this for some time now and for a few years i have seen them but never actually used one and i am curious if anyone here owns one or ever used one before.

they seem like they can be a handy tool for sidewalks and the few times i have seen them they also look like they handle the task pretty quick.

i am considering trying them out this spring and my question would be, are they durable? do they do a good job compared to a traditional sidewalk edger?

any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

You will find that they are faster, but you have to have a steady hand using them. I have owned both types of edgers, and I prefer the stick edger. Besides having a steady hand, they do vibirate a lot.

Sprinkler Buddy
01-20-2012, 09:48 PM
Stick edgers are well worth the investment. They also work great for cutting out new beds as well.

picframer
01-21-2012, 03:54 AM
Stick edgers are well worth the investment. They also work great for cutting out new beds as well.

And for making cut lines to remove sod, they are excellent at this along with cut lines when new sod is laid, a very good investment.

I have an old John Deere walk behind as well, wasnt't even looking for one however the dealer had taken it in from an estate, we use it a lot for cutting angles as the head rotates to various angles.

dpld
01-21-2012, 08:15 AM
good news, thanks for the replies.