PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone from TJs Landscaping and Lawncare

ctranjones
01-16-2012, 01:37 AM
Hi. I wanted to take the time to introduce myself. My name is Christina, I just started a landscaping company with my husband, Michael. We are from High Point, NC. My husband has been in the industry for over 15 years, I am fairly new to it-but slowly learning my way. We started TJs Landscaping and Lawncare in October of 2011. He is currently working for another landscaping company until we get some more clientele to set us off comfortably. Since I am a stay at home mother, I thought it would be great to start this business. I am helping with the office end of the industry. We are still taking off right now, but hope to be getting a great start with the spring coming up soon. I am always up for any advice from anyone that could help me understand the industry a bit more.

For fun, the husband and I love to be outdoors doing anything together. We love to travel and site see.

If you guys have any advice to give me feel free. I am very open minded and love to hear from you guys/gals.

Steve
01-16-2012, 08:08 PM
Welcome to our forum!

What got you to decide to go this route and start your own lawn care business?

Chilehead
01-16-2012, 08:47 PM
Best advice I can give you two is to keep your overhead low, your quality of work high, and you need to roll with the punches in this industry. Here in GA we have suffered some major drought episodes and many newbies went belly up in no time flat. Because your hubby has 15 years experience, it shouldn't be foreign to you what can bog you down. Also, innovate-innovate-innovate. Finding new ways of doing things to adapt to changing conditions is critical to the longevity of a business.:)

Steve
01-17-2012, 03:45 PM
Also, innovate-innovate-innovate.

Do you have any examples of how lawn care businesses in your area have had to innovate to better adapt to the ever changing environment?

Chilehead
01-18-2012, 10:02 AM