PDA

View Full Version : new to snow removal

caddy0291
08-15-2011, 06:12 PM
This is my first year of lawn care and Im already getting customers asking about snow removal,my question is what equipment do I need to get? I will be doing between 10-20 driveways, Also will a snow blower fit in the back of a tahoe or do I hook my trailer up to haul the snow blower around which is the more common practice?

stevef1201
08-15-2011, 06:33 PM
I cannot answer that question directly becasue I don't know what kind of blower you have.
having said that I can only add The biggest mistake that new people make in this business is they don not think of all the things that go along with 'mowing the grasss'. I mean mulch, hedge trimming, tree trimming, flower bed installations, tree planting, softscapeing deign, gutter cleaning, power wasing, snow removal. etc. If you con't plan on making money with this business then maybe you should thin about doing something else. I cannot tell you the amount of bisuess I have taken away from 'lawn mower' because they did not offer anyting else. Remember the Massey services commercial, well it's true. Every one needs to think about how to get thier equipment around, what equipment they need, and how to do all of the different aspects of this business.
good luck

Hedgemaster
08-15-2011, 11:06 PM
This is my first year of lawn care and Im already getting customers asking about snow removal,my question is what equipment do I need to get? I will be doing between 10-20 driveways, Also will a snow blower fit in the back of a tahoe or do I hook my trailer up to haul the snow blower around which is the more common practice?

Equipment?
A snowblower or two
Shovels (GOOD ones)
Ice melt

I don't know if others use their trailer in the winter, but last winter I was worried about the trailer sliding on icy roads, as well as the added difficulty of finding a place to park with snow piled up everywhere, so I just kept my trailer under a tarp for the winter.