PDA

View Full Version : grass clumping up

caddy0291
08-07-2011, 10:26 AM
I have an ariens zoom 42 and some customers are complaining bout thier grass clumps after I mow,now keep in mind I go over some of these yards 2 or 3 times and it still looks clumpy now these aint weekly customers these are customers that go 2 weeks then call me to cut there tall grass. Now my question is should I buy the muiching kit for this mower or should I try something else this is my first year and I have around 45 customers so any advice would be helpful!!!

Liberty Landscaping LLC
08-07-2011, 10:51 AM
I would say mulch kit/bagger....if it's that tall I would bag it. Otherwise rake/blow it into a pile and pick it up. You don't want to leave a bad impression the first year. That will spread faster then good things about you. I would rake/blow it into a pile and pick it up until you add a mulch kit or bagger to it. I mow this one woman's yard and I have mulching blades that leave very small clippings hard to even see but the previous LCO ruined that and she just wants it bagged. I couldn't even talk her into trying the mulch alone one time. Good luck let us know the outcome.

jymie
08-07-2011, 10:53 AM
I use a bungy cord and attach it to the chute so I can raise it up an inch or two, that spreads out the clipping over a larger area. Just make sure you are not pointing the chute towards flower beds, the house and vehicles in case a stone gets tossed.

shadrach
08-07-2011, 03:28 PM
How often do you sharpen blades?

jymie
08-07-2011, 03:41 PM
I sharpen my blades once then the next time I get new blades. Once I see the cut getting less than perfect is when I sharpen.

XtreemGreen
08-07-2011, 07:21 PM
I sharpen my blades once then the next time I get new blades. Once I see the cut getting less than perfect is when I sharpen.

Wow... If you have alot of customers, I bet your bill just for blades is ALOT...

XtreemGreen
08-07-2011, 07:24 PM