PDA

View Full Version : New Member, Indiana Iraq Veteran

Timbo
07-14-2011, 09:44 AM
Hello all,

First of all, Id like to say I respect YOU! I respect anyone who had the guts to go out into the unknown, put in the work, and become self employed and sucessful. I salute you!. That is the American dream for me.

Well and little about myself. I'm a 26 yr old veteran. I have 5 years in Active National Guard. Deployed to Iraq in 2008 as an Artillerymen (Cannons) Looking to go to Afghanistan in or aorund 2013.

For the most part my hours are 7-4 and I know in advance if I'm going out of town or not. That leaves me with alot of consistent available time in the evenings to work a side gig. I'm pretty handy and have done a few remodels I like doing renovation type work but its time consuming, there are ALOT of unknowns when taking on those jobs. Id much rather work outside and know what to expect.

Which leads to my passion for landscaping. I love to stare at a nicely striped lawn with clean edges. I want to do this. I'm not greedy I dont want a huge business. Honestly I would be happy with a one crew operation. I just want a self employed side gig where I'm the boss for a change. (I have authority issues lol)

I've landed a few gigs via advertising on craigslist and have already made a few rookie mistakes I can tell. I like to consider my self a smart guy. My problem is I never have a rolemodel to show me the ropes. I've always been forced to go out and learn the hard way.

This is me putting in the work,time and effort to research as much as possible and learn from you guys. Thanks for reading my rediculously long introduction.

Hedgemaster
07-14-2011, 09:56 PM
Welcome.

I'm learning as I go as well. I got into this as a means to keep from losing my home after having no luck finding work in my field and after a scary-slow start this spring, things have picked up nicely for me.