PDA

View Full Version : My New Lawn Signs - Bartering 101

Hedgemaster
06-20-2011, 11:02 PM
Several weeks ago I went to give an estimate to mow a lawn. Long story short, the homeowner owns a local promotional company that does silk screen shirts and other such items, and when I mentioned that I was looking to have some shirts and signs made, he asked if I'd be interested in bartering - some cuts for some merchandise?

:) Hecks yeah!

I quoted him $40-$45 to cut his lawn and he offered me two (2), two-sided, 18x24, full color, coroplast lawn signs with upgraded heavy-duty stakes.

:) :)

Here they are.

He suggested doing a vertical design, as it will stand out from the millions of "standard" 24"x18" horizontal signs that litter the landscape. This made sense to me and I used the same layout for both, but used different text for the "headers".
As a designer, I was torn between going with a stark, "generic" design using "text only" that could be easily viewed from a distance, or a more "colorful" design that has more visual appeal.
Since most of the places I'll be placing these are either at intersections (where cars stop for a moment - long enough to view the sign), or along sidewalks where there is pedestrian traffic, I went the more "colorful" route.

I designed them, emailed PDF files to him, and in a few days, he had them ready for me.

http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/IntegrityLawnCare/Promotional%20Items/Yard%20Signs/104_6433.jpg

for these pics I threw them back by my flowerbed to show scale...

http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/IntegrityLawnCare/Promotional%20Items/Yard%20Signs/104_6431.jpg

Viewed from the back...

http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/IntegrityLawnCare/Promotional%20Items/Yard%20Signs/104_6434.jpg

http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/IntegrityLawnCare/Promotional%20Items/Yard%20Signs/104_6436.jpg

http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/IntegrityLawnCare/Promotional%20Items/Yard%20Signs/104_6438.jpg