PDA

View Full Version : Hello From North Texas

TLC CO
05-27-2011, 01:47 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome. About me...I am completely new to the lawn care and landscaping business, so really dont have a lot of knowledge on the subject. Here is a list of what i have, 2010 cub cadet rtz50, 2008 Husqvanrna 54" lawn tractor, cub cadet 21" electric start with mulch plug and bagger, 2 power heads with string trimmer, cultivator, edger, and brush cutter attachments. 16" and 18" echo chainsaw, DR chipper, Husqvarna stump grinder, and a Haulmark enclosed trailer to haul everything. I am equipped and ready to work. Doing all of this solo. Just need to get the customers coming in. Any advice is greatly appreciated. And Steve...From one Veteran to another, Thanks for serving Our Country.
TJ

Steve
05-28-2011, 07:56 AM
Hi TJ,

Welcome to our forum!

What got you interested in getting started?

TLC CO
05-28-2011, 11:06 AM
I have always loved working outdoors and being able to see a beautiful end result afterba little hard work. I worked for my dads business, but recently he has slowed way down. I thought I would give it a go and see if I can be successful doing something I really enjoy.
TJ

Steve
05-30-2011, 02:47 AM
Oh that is fantastic! Did he run a lawn care business too?

Having a father that operates a business should give you a real competitive advantage.

Does he offer you any business advice as you get yourself going?

TLC CO
05-30-2011, 10:39 AM
No, my dad owns a small manufacturing business. But he started with nothing and now has net sales over 750k. His best advice is not to get discouraged, very few businesses take off rapidly. It will be slow and painful at times, but stick to it if you want it to work.