PDA

View Full Version : From day job to mowing biz

dblawncare
05-24-2011, 02:51 PM
This is my first time starting a thread, so if I've done it wrong, I appologize! I would like to get into the lawn care business, and I have been doing research to develop a long term plan. At some point, if my business grows, I will reach a point where I am too busy to keep my day job (74k/yr), but probably not making enough money mowing to quit my day job. It looks like great sacrifice is in order, but the question is: how much, and when? I know there is no solid answer to this, but I would like to hear from someone who has been through this, weather you were successful or not.

Steve
05-25-2011, 03:30 AM
There have been a lot of discussions on this topic over the years here. It is a fascinating topic to talk about.

From all that we have talked about in the past, it seems it is difficult to keep a fulltime job and build up a lawn care business part time. The more liabilities you have now, the more things you will have holding you back from making that jump.

Some of the key points to do this successfully we have found have been to save up your money so you will have a cushion in the bank of cash that can help you make the transition.

How soon you make that transition has a lot to do with how much you push your lawn care business and how much you hate your fulltime job.

Can you potentially work part time at your job at some point? Could you take the skills you have from that job and apply it to another part time job somewhere else if you needed too?

You can make this happen, it will take some time and some determination.

What is your view on why now? What made you finally decide to think about this and want to go this route?

dblawncare
05-25-2011, 12:56 PM