PDA

View Full Version : starting new part time business

huskerfan62
04-21-2011, 11:07 AM
Hello, as the name says I am from Nebraska and a huge Husker fan. Trying to start up a lawn business part time as I am a full time mechanic during the day. I do have 3 sons 15, 21, and 26 so will have the help I believe if I need it. About 10 years ago I started a fence business part time and grew so fast it outgrew me and I had to put it on the back burner because of lack of time. Also the fence thing was a lot of physical labor for an old man like me. What I am trying to do is start up doing a few small yards with a push mower and grow from there. As/If it grows I will add a rider and other services also. As of right now I am in a town of about 10,000 and hope to pick up about 10 or 15 yards per week for this year and see how it plays out. If things work out I will dive headfirst in over the winter with a gameplan for next year. I'm hoping this becomes a plan "b" for when I want to quit the automotive business. My brother in law and my dad have both done lawns in the past and encourage me to get out and do it. The family name has been in business for over 30 years in some capacity or another so hoping that leads to a few accounts. Thanks for all the good info on this site.

Tom53
04-21-2011, 03:09 PM
Welcome to the forum, and as far as being a husker fan, we wont hold that against you! LOL Just kidding...(hawkeye fans can be a pain, cant we!)

This is a great place for information, tips and tricks. I am in Iowa right across the river from So. Sioux, so if you are in this area let me know.

Good Luck in your ventures.

Steve
04-21-2011, 11:04 PM
Welcome to our forum!

About 10 years ago I started a fence business part time and grew so fast it outgrew me and I had to put it on the back burner because of lack of time.

Can you tell us a little bit about this experience? What is your view on why it wasn't able to grow into your fulltime business?