PDA

View Full Version : Finally posting

TLC131
04-14-2011, 10:28 AM
Hey, my name is Tim. I have been cutting lawns in my neighborhood since I was 14 (5 yrs). Started out driving my dad's lawn mower around, which was a good opportunity to wave to everyone in the neighborhood. LOL

I am currently entering a stage where I believe it might be benificial to hire a helper. I maintain about 40 lawns, 15 of which are in my neighborhood :D

I also do snow plowing and have about 37 accounts, that my girlfriend helps me do :)

My equipment consists of:
2004 Chevy 2500 (68,000 miles)
6x12 open trailer
52" Great Dane Surfer (350 hrs)
44" Simplicity Rider (where it all started)
36" Gravely Walkbehind (50 hrs)
21" Toro Push Mower
Kawasaki Trimmer
Costco Trimmer (no throttle or cruise control?)
Echo Sidewalk Edger
Echo Backpack Blower PB-770 (BEST BLOWER EVER!)
2004 Arctic Cat 650 with plow (for neighborhood sidewalks)
2009 Western Poly Pro 7'6" (awesome money maker)
2004 Suzuki GSXR 750 (not a tool, but my awesome toy!)

I love owning my own business, which became legal in the spring of 2010. It's awesome to be able to turn a summertime hobby into a full time job. I love learning new things like operation and mechanics. Hopefully I wont be doing the labor when I'm 40 and I can just manage and do more of the business side, that is my goal. This forum is great to connect with others and to better educate myself on different things.

Steve
04-14-2011, 03:13 PM
Welcome to our forum!

You sound like you are doing great!

What advice do you have for other teens out there trying to get their business started?

What do you feel they should be doing to attract new customers?

TLC131
04-16-2011, 12:00 AM
It's weird, this year I havent even put out flyers yet and I have still gotten a consistent call volume for my size. Referals and the phone book.