PDA

View Full Version : SCAG won't start!

element009
04-04-2011, 05:33 PM
So this is my first year on my own. I haven't started cutting yet, just clean-ups. I bought a used 36 inch SCAG walk behind off craigs list about 4 months ago. It's about 12 yrs old, but in decent shape. Kawasaki engine. It was about 30 degrees out when I bought it, so we had to use ether to get it started. However, once it started, it was running fine. Since then, I've started it a few times on warmer days (40+) and everything seemed to be okay. However, today I tried starting it with no luck.

It started after a few pulls, but about 2 min. later it stopped. I realized the fuel valve was off, so I opened it, assuming this would solve my problem, but after this it still wasn't starting.

I gave it about 15 minutes to rest and went back to try again. Eventually I started spraying ether. The engine is going, but I have to keep spraying the ether or else it just dies. I'm not too experienced with engines, but I believe this means the gasoline is not getting to the engine. I checked the hose that feeds the gasoline, and it's all clear. Now I'm thinking it could be the carb. Any suggestions on what to do next?

jklawncare
04-04-2011, 05:38 PM
GET SOME START YOUR ENGINES! :D

ahaha

id try getting something to dump in the tank
my guess is the carb is gummed up if it fires and isnt locked up
you might want to check the spark plug first to see if thats gummed up

jymie
04-04-2011, 05:44 PM
If thats the gas from last year, its probably the gas. Try changing the gas and putting fresh gas in.

element009
04-04-2011, 05:47 PM
The gas is a few months old, but I used fuel stabilizer, which claims to keep the gas good for up to 12 months. Maybe I'll mix in some fresher gas and give it another go.

jklawncare
04-04-2011, 05:56 PM
The gas is a few months old, but I used fuel stabilizer, which claims to keep the gas good for up to 12 months. Maybe I'll mix in some fresher gas and give it another go.