PDA

View Full Version : echo blower

robert24
03-31-2011, 07:15 PM
i am trying to decide between an echo back pack blower or the echo blower that attaches to the trimmer handle. considering i am just starting out and can stand to save a few bucks does anyone have any advice on this.

Liberty Landscaping LLC
03-31-2011, 07:56 PM
What are you going to be using it for? Just to blow down sidewalks and driveways or to actually clean off lawns and flower beds?

Gls
03-31-2011, 08:22 PM
Unless you are blowing dry light material, back pack is the way to go. Check the cfm at the output.

tricountylawncare
03-31-2011, 08:39 PM
I really recommend spending the extra money on the backpack. Don't know how much you are wanting to spend but the Echo PB 500H is $299 at Home Depot and is more than you will need. It will blow wet leaves, sticks, rocks, dogs, cats ect. Ha Ha. Plus it has a 5 year warranty. You can't go wrong. If you don't have a HD close by then the shipping is free on it if you order online.

P.S. Don't mess with the PB 265. It is $50 less than the 500 but has a lot less power.

robert24
03-31-2011, 09:02 PM
thanks for helping me decide i was leaning toward the back pack blower and wanted to make sure i was making the right choice for the money

Hedgemaster
03-31-2011, 09:32 PM
Timely thread.

I was doing a cleanup the other day and using my Craftsman handheld. While it was fine for moving the leaves on the lawn, it struggled to "dig" them out of a few spots under and between branches/trunks of shrubs. It also couldn't blow them out from under hedges when blowing from the other side to try and blow them into the yard.

I started looking at the specs for Echo and Stihl backpack blowers last night.

You say that the Echo 500 at Home Depot is powerful enough?
I'm going to go out on a limb and say that the rating on my Craftsman is exaggerated then, because it's 470 CFM and that Echo is "only" 450.