PDA

View Full Version : To change the Business name or not?

Snowman
03-26-2011, 02:46 PM
I have a dilema going that i can use some input on please. I have been plowing snow for 3 years with the name Snowman Snowplowing and have a good business going. Last year a client wanted to know if i cut grass and did yardwork. Not wanting to miss an opportunity for some extra cash i agreed to raking and mowing her yard all season. I also got 3 other mowing accounts...not much but a start.
Now i have decided to make a go of it in lawn care also for the summer months (what there is of them here) and now they read " Snowman Snowplowing and Lawn Maintenance" to my business cards.
Should i make up different cards with lawn maintenance first and snowplowing second for the summer months.
Leave them the way they are.
Scrap them, my Snowman Snowplowing and all the advertisement and familiarity for the people in the area to me and come up with an entirely new business name?
Sorry for the windiness....thanks, Snowman :eek:

shadrach
03-26-2011, 03:05 PM
If you have good recognition from the name keep it - it is much easier to add services as an existing company than start over with a name change.
You are just going to market differently for different seasons.
Maybe a flyer with a logo of a snowman pushing a lawnmower that you send to all of your existing plow customers?

Snowman
03-26-2011, 03:44 PM
If you have good recognition from the name keep it - it is much easier to add services as an existing company than start over with a name change.
You are just going to market differently for different seasons.
Maybe a flyer with a logo of a snowman pushing a lawnmower that you send to all of your existing plow customers?

I do have good recognition and my clients have been super about giving me leads.
Funny you mention the Snowman pushing the lawn mower.....that was something i was thinking of also.
Thank you for your input sir...i appreciate it! Please vote on my poll i put up also.