PDA

View Full Version : Intro. and Seeking Advice

Southern Oasis
03-17-2011, 01:10 AM
Hello everyone. My name is John. I am in the New Orleans area. I have been doing Landscaping and Irrigation for a few years now with my main focus being the irrigation. This year I want to move toward the lawn care side of things.
There is a guy here who is getting out of the business. He has approximately 50 clients spread out over three areas around the city and is looking to sell them. I feel this would be a good start for me. However, I have many concerns as I have never participated in a transaction of this sort. I want to protect myself in case his customers don't want to make the transition and drop me. I don't yet know if these customers are under contract or how much he is charging for his services. Most importantly, I don't know what these properties (clients) are worth. Someone told me that I could expect to pay somewhere around 2.5 cuts for each client. Does this sound about right? I was thinking that (whatever I pay for them) I would have a contract drawn up with some sort of non-compete clause and that I would agree to pay for each client that stayed with me for at least a month (or should that be longer).
I'm sure there are things I haven't thought of as well. If anyone has any thoughts/advice for me, I would be most grateful.

Simpkins
03-17-2011, 02:22 AM
I'm not sure the going rate for customers. Surely starting out with that many customers would be awesome! I would definitely have a non-compete clause in the contract, maybe prohibiting him from doing this kind of work within 50 miles from you or whatever. If you are going to pay 2.5 cuts per customer, I would think the 1 month requirement of your would be too short.