PDA

View Full Version : green lawn products

baldor99
03-14-2011, 06:53 PM
I'm just starting out on my own and dont know what license i need in MA. i'm only starting with basic lawn services and minor projects. Will i need to get a lic. for using green products on lawns and beds.
Thank You
Mike

Steve
03-16-2011, 02:38 AM
Hi Mike,

Welcome to our forum!

Each area is different. You may need a local township business license. You could find that out through your town hall.

If you want to apply fertilizers, you will probably need a state license for that. You could find out more on your state site.

Most areas don't require you to collect sales tax on lawn care but they do for capital improvement projects, such as landscapes or hardscapes. So that would be a sales tax license as well, if needed.

What got you interested in starting your own business?

baldor99
03-16-2011, 10:55 PM
Thank you for the welcome
i've been a member on here for awhile and have been doing some of my homework from this site.

I've always been involved with some sort of lawn care for the past 15 yrs. after i started to work with a friend of my dads when i was in my teens. it was bound to happen sooner or later, wish it was sooner.

I'm only doing cleanups lawns some reseeding the basic stuff. I dont want to get involved in fertilizers or landscape/hardscapes as of yet. not that i cant i just dont have that much equipment.

i hv the basic 36"lesco beltdrive walk behind 2 jd push mower mutli tool weed/pruner/edger/blower from stilhl, echo straight trimmer 18" and 12" husqvarna chainsaws and hand tools, and a 8' fisher plow that i plowed for my town.

i just started posting ads on craigs list and flyers are handed out by me an my dad when we are around town. im not insured rite now but plan on it by the first of april. Do i need 1mil policy or can i get by with 500k

Hedgemaster
03-17-2011, 12:27 AM