PDA

View Full Version : Ethanol

Shark1611
03-09-2011, 07:49 PM
I have been told that our two cylce equipment will have a much shorter life span due to the added ethaonal. I was told anything over 10% is even worse. I have been told that there is not a thing that can be added to the fuel to help prevent damage! I am a manager of a hardware store and have a number of lawn care customers talking about this. One told me today that if the gas sets up for a few days it will seperate and all you will have running through your power equipment is alcohal this will cause scoring in the cylinder.

I have had others tell me that it is no big deal. I know someone on here has the scoop on this issue. What is the truth?

wandfsmall
03-09-2011, 09:21 PM
I have been told that our two cylce equipment will have a much shorter life span due to the added ethaonal. I was told anything over 10% is even worse. I have been told that there is not a thing that can be added to the fuel to help prevent damage! I am a manager of a hardware store and have a number of lawn care customers talking about this. One told me today that if the gas sets up for a few days it will seperate and all you will have running through your power equipment is alcohal this will cause scoring in the cylinder.

I have had others tell me that it is no big deal. I know someone on here has the scoop on this issue. What is the truth?

the problems you hear about ethanol are true... so far no true solution.

Shark1611
03-09-2011, 10:25 PM
the problems you hear about ethanol are true... so far no true solution.

So...all my Red Max power equipment it going to crap because of this crap. Boy that is hard to take. Thank you and look forward to how I can keep them running the longest with this issue.

jymie
03-09-2011, 10:54 PM
So...all my Red Max power equipment it going to crap because of this crap. Boy that is hard to take. Thank you and look forward to how I can keep them running the longest with this issue.