PDA

View Full Version : Sod

Liberty Landscaping LLC
03-09-2011, 05:43 PM
This is my first time posting so here goes. I have been in the business about 3 seasons. I used to only do lawn maintenance as I only do this part time and have a full time job. I have a few people asking me to do chemical applications and SOD. I live in NJ and they require a class to get licenced for chemical applications and I want to do it the right way so I signed up for the class. Hopefully they actually teach application methods and what have you. If not I will be back on here for that but my main concern is SOD. I wanted to see how you apply it if anyone has expierence and how you charge for it. I was watching the DIY network and also researched online and they said to remove dead grass and then fertalize and then apply the SOD. Is this the common practice or should I put down top soil. Any advice I would appreciate it. Please tell me how you do it. BTW this site is terrific. I check it almost daily just didn't have a purpose to post till this year. Thanks everyone in advance.

CheapNEasy
03-09-2011, 06:10 PM
I soil test before hand, if the soil is sufficient for sod to grow on, I do not add soil.

First off, I spray to kill all the grass and weeds, let it set in for a day. Come back with my tractor, till the crap out of it! lol. (my tiller leaves an almost sand consistency to the soil all grass is gone or I rake the remaining grass) Then I have a section of fence about 6 foot wide and 10 foot long I drag across to level it ( a heavy thick chainlink fence). Then I spread a good starter fertilizer, lay the sod (watering it in as you go, dont wait till the end if you have a lot of sod to do, every 500sqft or so water it in), overlap the sod about half an inch at the seams, prevents wash out lines. Run over it with a sod roller and there ya go....