PDA

View Full Version : Edger-cate Me! Explain Edgers to a Noob

Hedgemaster
03-07-2011, 08:09 PM
As you may know, I'm a beginner in the lawn care business. The only experience I have with edgers is the one time I used one of those old, manual, "thought I would die" stick edgers, and the "twist 'n turn" type electric/cordless string trimmers that convert to an "edger". I've used one of those on my own property for many years, as I had no need for anything "more".

Now I need the proper equipment to use on other people's property and I know essentially NOTHING about gas edgers, so I could really use your help.

• I don't know if there are different "types" of edgers for different tasks, or if they all do the same thing.

• Are they only used along sidewalks and driveways, or do you use them for cutting fresh edges along flowerbeds too?

• Straight shaft? Curved shaft?

• Engine power - is it a huge concern?

I do have a Stihl FS90 straight shaft trimmer that accepts gearbox accessories (http://www.stihlusa.com/accessories/interchangeable.html).
The edger attachment is $180. That's a LOT of money for a small chunk of metal, but it's half to a third of the cost of some of the dedicated edgers I've seen, so I'm going to have to wait to learn a bit more before I decide whether I get that attachment or just buy an edger.

Any info you care to share will be helpful!
Thanks in advance!

950thomas
03-07-2011, 08:21 PM
I run all redmax stick edges. I do not use those split shaft combo units those are fine if it is just u but if u are running multiple crews get a dedicated unit

Hedgemaster
03-07-2011, 10:19 PM
It's just me. No crew.

I'm like the Lone Ranger - without Tonto even.

;)

Also, price is going to be a factor. I'm coming off a "no income" winter with no money to waste. There are probably other items I should purchase that would make me more money (like a pole/extension hedge trimmer), but I'm guessing I'll need at least a "basic" edger.