PDA

View Full Version : Rising Gas Prices

CanadayLandscaping
02-23-2011, 09:37 PM
As I am sure that everyone knows, gas is going through the roof, with really no sign of slowing down.

As many of you know, by trade I come from the trucking industry. There are few things that cross the span between that industry, and lawn care. Even though I am trying to give this lawn care business a strong chance, I am struggling even getting off the ground. I try to sit back and look at what makes me successful in the trucking world, or tactics truckers use and see if they can be used in lawn care. Many things like equipment operation, maintenance, routing, having a good cb handle....LOL.

Anyway, many, if not most trucking based companies have to deal with the rising fuel cost just like we do in this business. Most if not all companies now a days, charge a straight up fuel surcharge. It usually isn't much, but it's added to each and every "stop" their truck makes, regardless of whether its a large load or a small load. It may be called a fuel surcharge on the bill of lading, or it may be called and "environmental fee" and so on. Has anyone started that in their business? For instance, my company I currently drive a truck for charges a $6.00 "environmental fee" for each stop I make. I can make upwards of 25-35 stops a day.

Any thoughts?

Hedgemaster
02-23-2011, 11:32 PM
As a consumer, I'd rather see a bill that just says "Mowing/trimming/edging $38", than see the following...

Mowing/trimming/edging $35
Environmental fee $3
Total: $38

:confused: WHAT? What the heck is THIS fee?!!!