PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing Lawn Maintenance Accounts

blakelandscapeanddesign
12-16-2010, 06:40 PM
I have an excellent opportunity to purchase some lawn maintenance accounts from a business owner who is now longer interested in the lawn care business. He has a remodeling business and fell into the lawn care industry by default. He's offering 40 accounts in the right area at the right price. I have not sat down with him to go over the details as of yet. What are some questions and concerns I may have going into the conversation. What do both parties need to bring to the table. I thank you for your help.

Doug

jklawncare
12-16-2010, 07:05 PM
im not an expert on this and everyone will have input
but id say some of the key things you need are

an attourney present to help go through everything and help write out some kind of documentation

determine how and when everything will be payed

i think the attourney is a key piece in this though as they know more about this than anyone else may know

CFD192
12-16-2010, 09:57 PM
been there done that! I would definately have a no compete contract.

Here is the reason. I was told by a friend that this guy was getting out of business and wanted to sell. As I met with him the first time everything sounded great. He mentioned he was getting older, wanted out and want to stop because of health. So at the first meeting, I just had a bad feeling about things and when asked about him getting our money then going behind our back and doing it, he said "well i will do for friends...you wouldn't care about that would ya" So I came back, and he did have everything wrote up had the accounts wrote down and all. everything seemed great.