PDA

View Full Version : Hello, new guy here

Robert G
12-11-2010, 09:19 PM
What's up everyone, my name is Robert and I'm new to the lawn service business. I got the idea from my girlfriend about 2 months ago when we were having a discussion about me being unhappy at my current employer and wanting to start my own business. She came up with the idea of cleaning gutters and also leaf clean up and removal, and from there my brain went in to over drive about all the services that can be offered in this industry. I've been able to aquire 2 clients for leaf clean up, but its been slow for the most part. All help and feedback would be greatly appreciated, as I sometimes feel lost as to how to gain more business and market myelf properly. We came up with the name Bob's Lawn Service.

jklawncare
12-11-2010, 09:42 PM
hey bob
welcome to the site
this place is great everyones friendly and you can get almost all your question awnsered here..

where you form?

Robert G
12-11-2010, 10:13 PM
Born and raised in Birmingham, AL. Its a boring place to live but after 29 years I've gotten use to it lol.

MAKLawnCutter
12-12-2010, 10:56 AM
Hey Robert,

Welcome to the forum, were all pretty helpful on here, we all have different opinions on EVERYTHING, no two people have the SAME idea. We can feed you all the information you could want and/or need!

Matt

Steve
12-12-2010, 03:39 PM
Hi Robert,

Welcome to our forum!

What have you been doing so far to promote and market yourself?

Robert G
12-13-2010, 12:49 AM
I've made flyers for gutter cleaning and leaf removal and I have been taping them to mailboxes. I also have 2 sets of postcards made that list all of my services, one to pass out and the second to mail using a consumer list I found online. I was wondering if actually knocking on doors is better than posting on mailboxes?

jklawncare
12-13-2010, 01:17 AM
knocking on doors is FAR better than just posting
most flyers get a 1-2% return rate..

around her i get 2-3% which is realllyy good