PDA

View Full Version : Todays Project(s)

picframer
11-22-2010, 11:44 AM
8 Custom picture Frames, Start a few Natural Edge boxes and finish three Cocobolo Bowls.

Start woodworking when I was 12 building white cedar blanket boxes, I am 100% self taught as my dad struggled with rough carpentry. Now 30 years later it is what I do in the winter to keep busy and this time of the year I am going out straight trying to keep up with Christmas Craft Shows.

I taught my son the craft when he was 11, now that he is in University full time he still tries to find some time to come home on weekends to work on inventory, he makes an amazing amount of money, averages around $36.00 an hour in the shop.

We import 76 species of hardwoods from all over the world, mainly places I have been in Africa and South America, everything we do is the natural color of the wood, no stains.

Below are three bowls that I started a couple of weeks ago for clients and finished them this morning as they are due Saturday, 8 picture frames are together and drying and I have a start on a few box's.

Also are cutting boards my son made yesterday, these are 8" square, end grain or butcher block, it's amazing the designs he comes up with, he makes them from 8" square to 12 X 18", he also makes our bread knives and turns quite a bit on the wood lathe which he really excels at.

Something for you folks to consider for a winter money maker, there is, at least here, 5 times more money in upper end woodworking vs lawn mowing, profit wise plus I never have to leave the property.

Steve
11-23-2010, 07:12 AM
Those bowls look amazing! It's as if you place some gold leaf in them. I can't believe that is just all wood!

And those cutting boards! I don't think I could ever cut on them! I'd be afraid I would damage them! I can tell plenty of time had been spent putting those together!

Such craftsmanship!

picframer
11-23-2010, 08:18 AM