PDA

View Full Version : what spare parts to carry with you

Dragger
11-11-2010, 07:46 AM
I am new to the lawn care business and wish to be full time by spring .

What spare parts do you carry in your trucks to do on site repairs?
and what spares do you keep in stock at your shop in order to save down time waiting on parts to arrive ?

Thanks in advance

Dragger

xpertlawnman
11-11-2010, 04:00 PM
I am probably in the minority here, but I don't really carry any spare parts with me. But I always have a good variety tools with me just for a quick fix to get me through the rest of the day. Mostly all of my lawns are pretty close to my house. So if a mower does go down, I can run home home and grab my backup or my neighbor's mower in a pinch.
As far as spare parts in my garage, I don't keep many things on hand except for filters, cables, spark plugs, blades.... just the basics. My Ferris dealer is fairly close by, so I can just run over there and buy stuff as needed.

lawnguybri
11-11-2010, 07:57 PM
extra tires , belts, blades, cables and anything else your workers may break or bend on a daily basis. spare parts are priceless in this ruthless line of work. :eek:

Steve
11-12-2010, 01:53 AM
Also, we talked about this in the past, a fire extinguisher!

Trimmer line?

Dragger
11-12-2010, 04:52 AM
extra tires , belts, blades, cables and anything else your workers may break or bend on a daily basis. spare parts are priceless in this ruthless line of work. :eek:
Ruthless is not the word i would use but cannot think of a more hostile word at this time

a couple weeks ago was helping a friend cut the yard ..(more of a hay field it seems .)of a foreclosed home and he hit a fence post that broken off about 6 inches from the ground level and hidden in the tall grass ...
broke the spindle on the mower deck with this but we were able to weld it up had a bit of vibration but spindle was shot any way and it allowed us to finish the Job.