PDA

View Full Version : Health Issues that come with Lawn care

cruzgardening
10-29-2010, 09:45 PM
I had this question since i started working with the landscape company i was with a few years ago and now as a business owner i wanted to know what the health issues related with all the fumes coming from all the machines are? has anyone done any studies on the health issues? if so can u guys let me know where i can find them?

Also if there are health issues how can they be prevented? thank you guys

mark123
10-29-2010, 10:06 PM
Personally, my health issues involve tendinitis. Last year it was tennis elbow, this year it is golfer's elbow. My shoulders pop and crack from tight tendons and my lower back requires adjustment every so often.

If you're concerned about exhaust fumes perhaps you could look into propane powered equipment. Dixie Chopper (http://dixiechopper.com/mowers/view-mowers/propane) has some ZTRs powered by propane. I do believe I've seen other companies that offer propane powered equipment but I can't remember who.

CHEESE2009
10-29-2010, 10:52 PM
Rumor has it lawn guys die early. ...

I have to agree that carpel tunnel has gotten the best of me.

You are dealing with a lot of 'vibrating' equipment which could stiff up your joints and cause a bit of cramping. My fingers usually are the first thing to cause me pain.

ANYWAY, nothing too serious.

As for the fumes, it's hard to say.....

You could be indoors all day breathing in stale air, or outdoors with fresh air and a bit of exhaust. I smoke, so honestly can't tell you if breathing in exhaust effects me.

The biggest problem I have, is my heart rapidly accelerating depending on what I'm doing. Usually happens when moving faster (obviously) though this could cause temporary shortness of breath and instant fatigue. I get this often because I don't eat breakfast.

Some basic things to look into;

Avoiding sun stroke
Replenishing fluids
Eating healthy
Stretching
Posture

StartALawnCareBusiness