PDA

View Full Version : Back in my first year again

WLS
10-05-2010, 06:36 AM
Sounds Strange but here I am in my first year of owning my own lawn care business again. To explain a little 12 years ago I had my first kid and the wife said it was time to work for some one else, so after 9 years I closed my business and went to work for another company. Now 12 years and a bunch of jobs later I had the opportunity to come back to what I enjoy. I came across a Toro Proline 36 commercial walk behind and a nice pickup for not a lot of money and decided to start mowing.

Steve
10-06-2010, 02:42 PM
Hello and welcome to our forum!

the wife said it was time to work for some one else, so after 9 years I closed my business and went to work for another company.

I think a lot of business owners run into this kind of situation.

With the experience you have now from going through that situation, what advice would you have for others when confronting such an situation themselves?

WLS
10-07-2010, 07:50 AM
Things change and you have to start all over the way I use to bid jobs doesn't apply any more. I had to learn new ways of doing every thing. But, in the end it's worth it. My biggest thing If your in Iowa anyway stay away from residential commercial is the way to go.

Steve
10-07-2010, 05:15 PM
the way I use to bid jobs doesn't apply any more.

How did you used to do this and why do you feel it doesn't work anymore?

WLS
10-08-2010, 07:33 AM
How did you used to do this and why do you feel it doesn't work anymore?

I use to just guess how long it would take to do the job it was all a shot in the dark. I didn't have all the resources I have now like internet and access to all the info and software to help me. It is so much easier to bid now and accurate I don't seem to be under bidding jobs as often as I use to.

Steve
10-10-2010, 03:25 AM