PDA

View Full Version : Took the plunge, did I make a mistake?

CanadayLandscaping
09-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to the forum, and new to the business. I have been debating on starting a lawn care business for probably 5 years. In the midst of trying to make up my mind, I moved from Maryland, to North Carolina. I decided to do what I knew, and that was the propane business, and truck driving.

As of a month ago, I decided enough is enough, I've lettered my truck, printed up flyers, have had business cards made, and spoken to an account. If i'm going to do this, I want to do it right.

I've put flyers up, spoken to a few people, and handed out a few business cards. So far, nothing. Not even a call. I'm starting to hit a funk, my neighbor across the street is booming with business, but, I don't want to do it his way, nothing is up to snuff. His work is good, but he's not "legit", if you know what I mean. Anyway, did I make a mistake? Is this market just flooded with too many lawn care companies? Or am I just freaking out for no reason, and the phone isn't ringing because of the time of year. Any idea?

MountainViewGreenskeeper
09-07-2010, 12:13 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to the forum, and new to the business. I have been debating on starting a lawn care business for probably 5 years. In the midst of trying to make up my mind, I moved from Maryland, to North Carolina. I decided to do what I knew, and that was the propane business, and truck driving.

As of a month ago, I decided enough is enough, I've lettered my truck, printed up flyers, have had business cards made, and spoken to an account. If i'm going to do this, I want to do it right.