PDA

View Full Version : Joining the team

DillonB92
07-20-2010, 12:01 AM
Hey my name is Dillon. I am 17 years old and live in Memphis, TN. This is my first year mowing lawns. It has always been a dream of mine to mow lawns for people. I have wanted to do this since I was like 10. Now that I am old enough to drive, I decided to make it reality. I got the idea of actually going ahead and starting from a guy in my class. He has been mowing for 4 years now. I enjoyed talking to him and getting advice. I started in September of 2009 getting in the last few mowing of the season. Over the fall and winter I did leaf cleanups and cleaned gutters. This summer I have only 8 yards, but I enjoy mowing them so much. I didn't really have the money or the time to get out and advertise my company this year due to school and working at baskin robbins. I am hoping this next year will be a lot better. I hope to gain as much advice as i possibly can from Experienced Lawn Care Business Operators and learn a few tricks of the trade. :)

Steve
07-20-2010, 03:28 AM
Welcome to our forum!

Were you able to do even a small amount of marketing with your limited budget and availability of time?

OhioMika
07-21-2010, 11:11 AM
Thank you for providing this site! I am Mika, and with Michelle we own Lawn and Order a full service grounds care company in NE Ohio. I have been a avid gardener and sometime landscaper for years, but this year began the business in earnest. We started April 1. As with most businesses, the lack of capital has hindered our marketing efforts, but have identified low-served areas and canvassed them with flyers. Customers get a 10% discount on jobs when a referral is successful, and we offer discounts for those with multiple properties. Estimates are given within 24 hours and calls are returned same day. We have already begun talking to new and current customers about snow removal and fall clean up.