PDA

View Full Version : Hello - I need some snowplowing advice

Wolf River
07-16-2010, 11:11 AM
Hello-
I'm from Northern WI. I just found this site and it has a lot of good info! Here's my deal. I live on a single lane private road about a mile long. In the winter there are 10 full time homeowners here. The guy we had doing our snowplowing can no longer do - due to health reasons. So being that I am a carpentry contractor and typically have very little winter work why not plow our road. The vehicle I will be using is a 97 f250 with 83,000 miles. It is very clean and mechanically sound and it has a 460 in it. It has a 2007 8'6" ultra mount on it. I actually just bought this truck and I'm picking it up today. I think I got a good deal on it a 4200.00 bucks. I was thinking about putting a ultra mount kit on my other truck a 1 ton dodge dually diesel - that way I have a back up if needed. After speaking with a few of the larger lawn companies around here - I landed some commercial lots to plow if I want them. So now I'm thinking about setting up my dually to plow with and put my son in 1 truck and me in the other. So just how bad is a dually long box , crew cab going to be for plowing if its really only used for parking lots with a vee plow on it. Now for my plowing experience - I haven't plowed since I was a kid 20 years ago.

Thanks in advance for all input - Todd

Steve
07-17-2010, 02:29 AM
Welcome to our forum!

My first question would be, is your plow going to be at least as wide as your dually truck?

Beyond that, it's not a truck that is normally used because of it's length and width, but if that is what you have to work with, that is what you have to work with and you can experiment with it. If you find you don't like using it, I am sure you can find another beater truck somewhere to use instead of the dually.

What kind of things will you be doing to promote your plowing business?

Wolf River
07-18-2010, 08:57 AM
Hey Steve -