PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Mississippi

Brint
07-10-2010, 09:54 PM
Hello from Mississippi,. New to the maintenance business. I am a landscape contractor adding maintenance to our business.

Steve
07-10-2010, 10:14 PM
Hi Brint,

Welcome to our forum!

What got you interested in landscaping first? It seems many take the lawn care route before they get into landscaping?

Brint
07-10-2010, 10:38 PM
Grew up in a family retail nursery business. Graduated from Mississippi State in landscape contracting. We offer landscaping, irrigation, night lighting and drainage. Our customers keep asking us to do there maintenance so we are adding a maintenance crew.

I have a question about billing. I understand either bill by the cut or bill a monthly amount for twelve months. If I figure the number of trips, price per trip and add it all up and divide by twelve months that is great but what if I add a new customer in May and they decide in September the don't need our services. That would leave me short. Do most people require they keep your services for twelve months.

Thanks Brint

JP Landscaping
07-10-2010, 11:09 PM
what I do is send the bills on the 15th of the month and require payment on the first of the following month. just bill them for all the maitenance from the 15th to the 15th.

Brint
07-10-2010, 11:52 PM
I got that part. If you are billing over twelve months you are making less profit in the months you are cutting and huge profits in the months you are not cutting (December, January and February etc.) it all averages out. So what I am asking is do most people require the customers they bill on a twelve month billing to use there service for a full year. If you set them up in May and they decide in September they do not want to use your services you lose.

majoe7
07-11-2010, 11:58 AM
Brint,