PDA

View Full Version : Changing a timer?

jasonw
05-15-2010, 01:34 AM
Ok so I need to replace a timer next week. I quote 2 hours plus cost. I have never done this before. Is 2 hours plenty of time for this?

Steve
05-15-2010, 02:44 PM
I am guessing this is a hard wired irrigation timer? Did you get a replacement? Have you played around with it to see how it works and what it will take to replace it?

Little's
05-15-2010, 05:42 PM
If its a plug in type. Should take about 15 minutes. Assuming you are replacing one, all the wires are already there. If you are replacing a hardwire, then 1/2 hour or so.

MountainViewGreenskeeper
05-16-2010, 12:20 AM
Ok so I need to replace a timer next week. I quote 2 hours plus cost. I have never done this before. Is 2 hours plenty of time for this?

should be as long as your nt running any new wire

jasonw
05-16-2010, 01:32 AM
I'm replacing an existing timer. I am fairly sure it is hardwired. I talked to the folks at lowes where I got the new one and they concur with everyone that it should take no more than 45 minutes. Not bad for $150 I guess.

mburse1977
05-16-2010, 01:42 AM
Sounds like you made out great on that one. Lots of profit little man power always works for me lol.

jasonw
05-16-2010, 09:20 AM
Sounds like you made out great on that one. Lots of profit little man power always works for me lol.

I do feel bad though for charging so much. I am an honest person so when the billing is done I will probably apply a credit. I would $hit if someone charged me $300 per hour for yard work lol.

MountainViewGreenskeeper
05-16-2010, 10:50 PM
lol good man. It will come back to you some how if you didnt karma can b a B&%@$ !

Little's
05-16-2010, 11:25 PM
Thats great. I usually charge the price of the timer plus $75 for doing a replacement. Its different though if you need to do a new install.

jasonw
05-17-2010, 01:24 AM