PDA

View Full Version : First Mulch Job

jklawncare
04-11-2010, 11:28 PM
okay so i got this lady..tiny yard..i almost didnt put a bid on it but im glad i did..this yard is TINY and im just getting started..so when i say i put a 12$ bid on it..no one freak out..anyways
shes got mulch around the deck and the garage
about 90 sq feet of mulch
she wants me to take it out and put new mulch in
i told her thats no problem i just gotta find out material costs and id get back to her the next time i service her lawn.

i saw an add today
theres natural mulch 4/9$ for 2 cu feet (12 sq ft at 2" thick)
and colored mulch 2/5$ for 2 cu feet (yadayada)
then also shredded cedar bark 2.69 for ""
and cedar chips 2.96 """""""

regretfully i forgot to ask if she wanted the fabric or edging.

so edging costs 6.86 for 20 ft. i need 100
and fabric comes in 3' by 150' for 7.86

so here is the deal:

Fabric (optional) 100 ft. = 10.00
Edging (optional) 100 ft. = 40.00
22 Bags of Mulch = 70.00
160$ Total

is my labor too low? should i charge more?
its me and my partner doing the job
ill be buying mulch in bags to save her money..
buying it from a lot costs more since its not a lot
any advice?

CHEESE2009
04-11-2010, 11:36 PM
Bill her for materials/transportation prior to work, then charge per estimated hour(s)... no?

Chips = Ants like crazy! Stick with mulch

jklawncare
04-11-2010, 11:38 PM
thats what i was going to do but what should i charge in labor? what would you charge?

and thanks for the heads up on cedar chips..i know some people like them because there supposed to last longer but i didnt know ants liked them.

JP Landscaping
04-11-2010, 11:38 PM
based on my numbers that's off but I don't know how expensive bulk mulch is where you live. But, usually it's cheaper to buy it in bulk than to buy it in bags.

Here 1 yard of mulch (100 sq ft) goes f0r $22 for natural and $28 for colored mulch.

I think your mulch cost might be too high and your labor too low.