PDA

View Full Version : Brand New Company in SC

mossyoaks
04-05-2010, 06:53 AM
My name is Jonas, and I just started Mossy Oaks Lawn Care. I've been in business for one week now. I have very little experience in lawn care other than my own. I have always enjoyed doing this stuff and take great pride in a tidy green lawn. I am a Firefighter/Paramedic in Hilton Head as my official full time career. I would like to grow this business to enough clients to make about two or three thousand a month, and hopefully not have to hire anyone. I have found bidding to be the most challenging task as of yet. I am afraid that I have underbid my first two jobs, something I don't want to do. That's enough to start i guess.:D

Steve
04-05-2010, 07:32 AM
Hi Jonas,

Welcome to our forum!

I have found bidding to be the most challenging task as of yet. I am afraid that I have underbid my first two jobs, something I don't want to do.

Can you tell us a little about these jobs and what makes you think you underbid them?

mossyoaks
04-05-2010, 08:55 AM
I did not calculate my direct cost when bidding. I figured I would be willing to work for no less than $20/hr to start, so I bid with that in mind. I did not take into account that I needed to add around $12/hr to cover equipment, gas, etc. I am trying to sell a year round service at a constant monthly rate. I would be making the most profit in winter time, and working more in summer. I obviously have a lot to learn. I am not sure what my actual operating cost are. I just added up my estimated monthly expenses and divided it by the hours i want to work a month, then I need to add my profit to that. I did not do this when bidding these jobs, so I estimated i made about $8/hr.

Steve
04-06-2010, 05:50 AM
I am not sure what my actual operating cost are. I just added up my estimated monthly expenses and divided it by the hours i want to work a month, then I need to add my profit to that.