PDA

View Full Version : another newbie

stew6371
04-05-2010, 12:20 AM
Hello all. I'm just getting started in the lawncare business. I have received some good ideas and info from here. Thanks for an awesome site Steve. I would like some feedback on my plans.
I plan on working my fulltime job until my lawncare business permits me to quit. Because of lack of funds I will be starting out with my 21" personnal mower, a gas trimmer and a gas blower. As business permits, I will upgrade. I'm also thinking about using the bed of my truck instead of a trailer for now. Will this appear unprofessional?

Steve
04-05-2010, 07:27 AM
Welcome to our forum!

It sounds good to me!

Have you looked into getting any signs for your truck? That always helps improve appearances.

mwgtrade
04-05-2010, 11:06 AM
I would like to tell you my opion about when you decide to upgrade and you will you should check out stihl brand trimmers.The first yeat i mowed i used a shindawa or how ever you spell it and got really frustrated.It was used but my brother had bought 2 brand new ones and came across the same problems I was having.It was hard to start and went through string like crazy.It felt like I was constently restringing and in the heat that becomes discouraging plus all three machines devoloped carbuerater problems.Last year we both switched to stihl fs90 and couldn't be happier.It it hardly uses string (I use stihl brand string) cranks on the first pull and is running like a champ plus in it cuts through just about the thickest stuff there is.As for your truck method I don't think that it would look too unprofessional but you will want to get a trailer soon as it is fastesr to unload and will come in handy all sorts of other projects.good luck and get mowin

stew6371
04-05-2010, 08:59 PM