PDA

View Full Version : Propane mowers

jklawncare
03-14-2010, 08:32 PM
Would you recomend these?

i figured id ask on here than just doing a google search

maybe some of you have some experience on one...

any info is greatly appreciated thanks :D

JK Lawn Care

SuperiorPower
03-15-2010, 12:42 AM
Hey,

I think they are probably a great idea. I think there may be some down sides as well but that is simply from the outside looking in.

Pros:
-Run cleaner if you are worried about "green" machines,
-Some customers may require "green equipment" giving you a lead on the bids,
-There is a possibility that, depending obviously on the respective fuels, that the propane mower will likely be less expensive to operate

Cons:
-Fuel storage is harder to deal with (I would think)
-Fuel Availability
-Machine will likely be more expensive up front,
-Machine may cost some more to have serviced (check on this with the dealer before buying)

I have no direct experience servicing the propane engines as far as if they cause less wear or more wear. I would think there could well be a difference since there is likely a difference in lubricity between gasoline and propane. But this is simply a guess. It may actually be pretty neutral since Gasoline can, in some cases, actually "wash" oil off cylinder walls causing excessive wear and oil burning. This would obviously cause early death. However, this is typically more of a problem if the air filter is dirty (http://lawnmowerforum.superiorpowerequip.com/index.php/topic,161.0.html), the choke is left partially on, or something else causes the engine to get too much fuel (like an improperly adjusted carburetor).