PDA

View Full Version : newbie

Dmmckaskey
03-03-2010, 10:14 AM
Hey, Ive been a long time listener on the youtube videos over the last year or so. Great tips and advice. Now thats its spring i feel its time to get serious and grow my business. Let me tell yall a lil about myself

I started my business when i was 14 cutting 3 yards a week with a push mower out of the trunk of my dads car. it grew mostly by word of mouth and i bought my truck, trailer, walk-behind, edgers and blower. Had it all paid off b4 i graduated high-school. I worked a year and got up to 40 clients that last summer. I closed my business to do a 2 year mission trip for my church. when i came back the area i lived in was in a serious drought and i felt that my lawn mowing days were behind me. After a while people kept asking me to do work for them. So ive decided to get serious about doing my lawn service full time now while im going through college.

I hope to get some great information to help me on this forum, and hope to help out others where i can.

Thanks.
~DM:cool:

Steve
03-03-2010, 11:25 AM
Hi DM,

Welcome to our forum!

What's the plan now to get things back on track? What will you be doing to get the word out?

Also, since you have been in business quite some time even as a teen, we see a question pop up a lot on here that I think you could help us with.

What advice do you have for the teens who are performing lawn care and want their business to be 'legit' registered and insured. But if because of local laws, they can't register a business because of their age or can't purchase insurance yet, what should they do?

Dmmckaskey
03-03-2010, 12:00 PM