PDA

View Full Version : pre emergents

khenry
03-03-2010, 07:22 AM
hey everybody im new at this and i wanted to hear from from some experienced lawn business owners which pre emergent is best local store has Lisco, Virtigo , and Scotts . I'D love to have some input

Fresh Cut
03-03-2010, 03:12 PM
I bought some Gluten-8 liquid organic fertilizer, it works as a pre-emergent too.

I haven't used it yet. I haven't figured out how I'm going to apply it.

Steve(the one from south carolina) suggested I use a hose end sprayer, but I'm not sure how that would work with it being concentrated. Don't know if I would put the concentrated Gluten-8 in the hose end sprayer or the mixed solution.

Steve
03-04-2010, 12:21 PM
Doesn't the hose sprayer dilute the mixture as the water sprays through?

Fresh Cut
03-05-2010, 10:28 AM
Doesn't the hose sprayer dilute the mixture as the water sprays through?

That's exactly what I am thinking. I pm'd steve but he hasn't responded. It has been a while, so I went ahead and bought a gallon of Gluten-8 from the website and I haven't opened it yet.

Steve said that he uses the hose end sprayer whenever he can't get his tractor in backyards.

I'm guessing that he doesn't use a mixture and that he just uses the concentrated Gluten-8 in the hose end sprayer and it dilutes it as the water comes out. But I have yet to see a hose end sprayer that shows the option to dilute a solution according to a ratio, i.e. 1:3, and I'm curious as to how accurate it would be.

Paul
03-05-2010, 10:44 AM
If you mean Lesco(not Lisco), I use Lesco Dimension w/fertilizer right after spring cleanup in April. Then with the IPM split application,i hit it again after the first cut in May i use Dimension with out fertilizer. I have elimiated 95% of the crabgrass in customers lawns.

Fresh Cut
03-06-2010, 12:22 AM
How much do you charge your customers for these applications?