PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

rick3499
02-26-2010, 11:00 PM
Hello everyone,

As you can see I'm new to this forum, I have been reading along and all of your information has been so helpful as far as the templates, bidding, etc. One thing I'd like to see and learn more about is where to start. I plan on beginning my landscape business in the spring of 2011. I have a truck and a utility trailer so far, clearly I have a lot of equipment to purchase. Before I start out my major investments into a mower, blower, etc. I'd like to put together some sort of a business plan. What steps did you take to start your business? What are the first steps you took? Did you buy your equipment before you had any contracts or clients? Do you suggest I gather information from clients first and try to get a few accounts in the off-season before I buy equipment?

I am a 24 year old graduate with a business degree and will be doing business in Vermont. I'm not sure what other information you may need to help me out, I really appreciate your help and look forward to your educated responses. I have been doing as much reading and learning on this site as possible and if you can suggest other posts I may have missed when reading over I'd be happy to look. Thanks so much for you help.

Cheers,

Rick

JP Landscaping
02-27-2010, 12:29 AM
I think the first thing you should start with is writing down your business plan. you can down load templates that will help you with structuring one or if you kept any of your business books then you can use that.

Next, figure out what services you will provide. I know you said landscaping but there are many and you can try to as many or focus on a few. Example: doing patios, retaining walls, etc (hardscapes) or perhaps more on planting or rain drain installations... figure out what you would like to do and this will tell you what equipment you will need.