PDA

View Full Version : Buying Customers

LawnMedic
02-23-2010, 06:32 PM
Anyone have any opportunitys to buy some new customers? Was wondering type of terms people have dealt with and any good or bad stories that were experienced. Also have the chance too but never pull the trigger.

ProCut TM
02-23-2010, 08:40 PM
here in FL customers sell for 3-4 months income of said customer
IE. a $100 monthly account would cost you $300-400
I've had some good experience buying accounts. It is a risk, but if you are smart and a bit lucky it is a fast way to grow. You can also write off the buyout on your taxes.

LawnMedic
02-23-2010, 08:46 PM
Well we have about 30 cuts a season....for 30,000 worth of annual cutting you would spend 15-16k and be happy?

ProCut TM
02-23-2010, 08:53 PM
where are you located? I don't think the northern states are pulling 3-4 month income for accounts I think they only get 1 month. Ask around with some other local guys in your area.

I would not buy accounts for 50% of the annual income, that seems way high.

said $100 account I can buy for $300-400 will net me $1200 for the year.

LawnMedic
02-23-2010, 08:56 PM
Hmm interesting. Where have you heard 1 month of revenue from?

ProCut TM
02-23-2010, 09:01 PM
just info I read on this board back a few years when I was buying some accounts and researching it much like you are now. I research everything I do, so I can make the best decision for my company.

ProCut TM
02-23-2010, 09:06 PM
If you buy accounts for 50% of the annual income, you have to mow them for free for half the season plus cost of overhead for the work. So you are more like 75% before you even break even, and if you lose some of those high priced accounts it will sting A LOT!

At 3-4 months income it is much less of a risk. and a faster profit turn around. And some people are not even willing to take this gamble.

LawnMedic
02-23-2010, 09:08 PM