PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

cball
02-10-2010, 06:49 PM
Fist off ive been a member for a year an this is my first post but i read them all the time an have found them very helpful. Last year i started in lawn care part time with good results i landed 7 lawns to maintain each week i already had a truck 48' walkbehind and a trailor ect. now iam looking to buy a good used zero turn rider its between a 52' exmark laser z and a bad boy 48 pro z the exmak has 1200hours the bad boy has 300hours both around $2200 what would u go with thanks alot good luck to everyone

musician/lawnman
02-10-2010, 08:27 PM
I have never used a bad boy before so it's hard to say. Seems there is a huge difference in how many hours they have for the same money....?
Is a bad boy mower a POS or something?

cball
02-10-2010, 09:04 PM
i know the exmark is well made and iam not sure what all to check for on a used zero turn such as hydros ect .The bad boy is a commercial grade it has 1/4 deck supposedly its big down south,. iam in ohio so not seen alot of them. The exmark only has 18hp.kohler motor the bad boy has a27 hp briggs not sure why the big difference between the 2 exmark has a bigger deck . Any tips on what to look for when buying used would be very welcomed thaks cball

ProCut TM
02-10-2010, 11:40 PM
I would steer clear of the off brand stuff get the exmark you will be glad you did (imho). Plus if you already have a 48 walk behind you are not gaining anything by going to a 48 z.

More deck = faster cut time = more profit

I've never heard of bad boy, we have a lot of the cheaper guys running hustlers down here in FL (no offense if anyone reading has a hustler).

It's one thing to run a cheaper machine for your back up or a small machine for fenced areas, but your main machine should be a quality piece.

Either way you go make sure you can get parts and service locally and quickly.

Steve
02-11-2010, 08:36 AM