PDA

View Full Version : New to forum - looking for ideas

alpinenaturescapes
01-29-2010, 04:00 PM
I am a 10 year veteran to the biz. I am basically solo with family employees. I started solo 8 yrs ago. The last two years, I have been holding my own, but haven't grown. In the past I have done referrer discounts, and had some clients who seemed like referring machines. I probably need to do that again. I also run a phone book ad, which this year I have expanded to 2 ads. However, last year, I was probably lucky if it paid for itself. So anyway, this year, I plan to really push at expanding biz. I plan to start aeration and fertilization in March, and will try to get add-on biz, and referrals from this. Leave a brochure about other services such as sprinkler repair, etc. I am trying to make myself a one stop shop for all landscaping needs. I am also going to try to sell some stuff through local channels.

I have spent a good bit of time on site playing with banners, graphics, calculators, etc. I like some of the flier ideas and graphics a lot. I already have a professionally designed logo, but I really appreciate the work that has been done here to help out the little guy.

I would like to expand my commercial side more. Right now we have a few businesses and home owner's associations. We could fit more in. I would like a word from anyone who has or is successfully doing this. How do you make these contacts, and get these bidding opportunities? I rarely get these calls, and then it seems it's just to get a required 3rd bid - they already have who they want, and I know some have kept who they had, even at more expense. HOAs have been good work, but it seems like their biggest budget item and concern is landscape care. It seems like there's always a new president who thinks it should be done cheaper, or with a small army of 21" mowers - you get the idea.