PDA

View Full Version : Hello

jardo67
01-05-2010, 03:50 PM
Hello all,
I am new in the business and just starting out... my father in law has been doing landscaping several years and has recruited me to start my own business (so I can hire him part time) so here I am. I have been working on getting one commercial account (which opens the door to a second property with the same customer) which comes up in Feb. and so I have reached crunch time I have to get the rest of my equipment and insurance this month…
Looking at a few different commercial mowers (Hasqvarna, Hustler, and SCAG) just trying to get more information on each…

Steve
01-05-2010, 06:03 PM
Welcome to our forum!

Has your father in law been able to help you create your business plan or help you with pricing or marketing?

What are you doing so far to attract your first few customers?

How do you like being in business for yourself compared to what you did in the past?

jardo67
01-06-2010, 02:18 PM
Yes, he has been helping me get clients and he will continue to help out as a ‘consultant’ when it comes to job functions that I am not experienced with. So far, I have actually been approached by a apartment complex to be their contracted lawn care service, it actually pays the same as my last full time job and requires less hours away. The only caveat I have is that I have to purchase my equipment relatively quick.
Which is not a problem with this contract and just after I started doing research on prices and licenses I have had 4 residential jobs open up… with my father in-law’s contacts he has even been able to help out other companies who have too much work.
Compared to my last job, I will be working for myself and have time with my wife who will be helping out as well…

jardo67
01-06-2010, 02:20 PM
As for attracting new customers, I am open to suggestions… I figure that I will be looking for more customers and any help will be appreciated

Steve
01-06-2010, 04:23 PM