PDA

View Full Version : Cub cadet?

devuono311
12-14-2009, 03:25 PM
:confused:I found a used 48" walkbehind commercial mower for sale, "Sounds" as though its in great condition, however, I'll obviously being going to take a look at it before any decisions are made. Here are the specs:

Model: 4814
Motor: 14 HP kohler
Deck: 48"
Transmission: Hydrostatic
comes with owners manual, and inludes mulch kit.

However it does need a new pull cord, although present owner claims HE can start it no problem.

Its a mid nineties unit I think, and it blue books at roughly $950. Hes willing to sell it for $400 due to certain circumstances hes in.

What do you guys think?

andyjoneslawncare
12-14-2009, 05:48 PM
Let me start by saying I have no experience with a walk behind and have no idea what I'm talking about. That said, is 14hp a bit weak? I have a residential Cub Cadet ZRT (50") with a Kawasaki 22hp and as far as the brand goes, I'm very pleased, especially considering its a residential model that I use every day. I know a walk behind would be lighter than mine, but not that much, and I guess its 3 blades? On the plus side, I can't think of a better way to have a 48" mower for $400! You could use it as your main mower if you're starting out or a great spare/ extra mower. I'm anxious to see what the "pros" on this forum think. Maybe 14hp is normal for a walk behind. Does it have a sulky? At $400 it seems like a good deal, but like I said, don't put much weight on my opinion, I just wanted to give some points to think about and let you know I'm happy with my Cub.

:confused:I found a used 48" walkbehind commercial mower for sale, "Sounds" as though its in great condition, however, I'll obviously being going to take a look at it before any decisions are made. Here are the specs:

Model: 4814
Motor: 14 HP kohler
Deck: 48"
Transmission: Hydrostatic
comes with owners manual, and inludes mulch kit.