PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Southwest Florida

dhawk
11-19-2009, 08:18 PM
Hi everybody,

New here and just found the site while surfing.

I'm new in this business.
This is the second business I have had.

My first business was embroidery, graphics, and screenprint.
I finally gave up on it due to lack of time (was still working full time for a large corporate company), low profit margins, and high overhead.

I bought a small existing LC biz with a few accounts, and have just been building from there.

Unplanned, this ended up being my families sole source of income.
errr..... that was a little stressful since I only started with ten accounts.

I have to say, I am much happier being out of Corporate America.

My friends thought I had lost my mind when I told them I was going to do lawn care. Four months later, all they can say is how much more content I seem.

Steve
11-19-2009, 09:30 PM
Welcome to our forum!

What first got you interested in starting an embroidery business? What did you like and dislike about it?

dhawk
11-19-2009, 10:44 PM
I got started because my wife wanted a small home embroidery machine.

Next thing I know, I am digitizing (creating graphic designs and then putting them into something similar to cad design that the embroidery machine can read).

Then I start a forum about embroidery, get about 5K members wanting designs, and the next thing I know, I am sitting in a brick and mortar shop with a commercial embroidery machine, a screen print press, digital garment press, conveyors, etc.

:p Embroidery is interesting - taking someones logo, turning it into a stitched hat or shirt is simply cool to see and do
- If you like computers/graphic art, you get to do a LOT of it for embroidery/screenprint
- Customers are usually good/loyal customers - once they see your work, or you create their design, they are not going anywhere (if you did a good job - sound familiar in another type of business?)