PDA

View Full Version : Hi From Winston Salem NC

greybeard_xlx
11-15-2009, 07:45 PM
Hi Yall. I'm a total newbie to the Lawncare business. I Work for a DJIA Company, but hate my job, I plan to take early retirement this year and work till retirement age in the green Industry.

If anyone in this area can give me some pointers on what the "average" is for job estimates average I would really appreciate it. Would love to talk with anyone in this area..

I hope to hit the ground running in June when I retire, but this spring will be focused on fitting out my equipment, getting insurance/license, and advertising to try to build up a base for summer.. My services will be mostly Trim/Mow/blow, but I also plan to offer spring clean up, pre summer feed/weed/ and fall leaf removal and lawn care. (Plug/fertilize/over seeding). Look forward to meeting some of you!!

Steve
11-16-2009, 10:26 AM
Hi,

Welcome to our forum!

What is a DJIA company ? :)

Have you experimented yet with the online lawn business calculators?
http://www.gopherforum.com/showthread.php?p=43299#post43299

They will help you get an idea of what your overhead is and how much you will need to charge. There are also a bunch of different jobs in the job estimate section here
http://www.gopherforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38

You can read through them and get an idea of what others are charging for different kinds of jobs.

What made you decide to start your own lawn care business? Did you ever get a chance to run any other business in the past?

arthur712
11-16-2009, 02:01 PM
Welcome to the forum!

greybeard_xlx
11-17-2009, 06:05 AM
Hi Artie, Steve

Just think of it as a Large company, A DJIA co is one that makes up part of the DOW JONES INDUSTRIAL AVERAGE.

By the way, My Co Name is "A Better Lawn"

arthur712
11-17-2009, 10:11 AM
Hi Artie, Steve

Just think of it as a Large company, A DJIA co is one that makes up part of the DOW JONES INDUSTRIAL AVERAGE.

Great Company Name!