PDA

View Full Version : Just an introduction

castmaster
11-09-2009, 01:21 PM
Hello everyone, my name is Mark Peterson and I live in Thunder Bay Ont. I'm a newbie to the lawn care/property maintenance business. In fact its not even up and running yet. I recently bought a 4x4 that came with a plow. Initially I thought it would be a good way to help pay for the truck (fuel and insurance) over the winter. After thinking about it for a while, I figured this would be a good opportunity to start a new business. Since I already have a plow, I can plow all winter, take all my profits from that and buy a mower or two in the spring.
A friend of mine already has a small lawn care service (about 20 customers) but doesn't do anything in the winter. I figured if we teamed up together and created an ACTUAL business, it would benefit the both of us.

I'm sooo happy I found this site, as it has been very helpful to me so far. I look forward to corresponding with you all in the future. Thanks for now!!!

BladeRunnerLC04
11-09-2009, 01:30 PM
Welcome to the club castmaster.

I would start marketing now for the spring. Get some nice business cards printed up and make them flashy lol.

I use www.vistaprint.com you can get some good stuff for a very reasonable price.

Good Luck this winter and the upcoming spring

Steve
11-09-2009, 02:58 PM
Hi Mark,

Welcome to our forum!

What kinds of marketing ideas have you and your friend come up with so far to promote your services?

jdsimpkins
11-09-2009, 03:06 PM
Welcome to the forum. This is a great place and there is very helpful people lurking around. You mentioned you and a friend are teaming up. Be careful. Business and friendship rarely mix. If you are both serious about it, I would draw up a contract and have it notorized, detailing all responsibilities on both parts, ect. It's nothing personal to your friend, it is just business. I have seen many businesses go south when friends disagree over things. Just my two cents.

castmaster