PDA

View Full Version : Hello - newbie at snow plowing in Iowa

exchicagoan
10-08-2009, 01:40 PM
Hi All,

Well I am new to the snow plowing business. I live in Central Iowa, but as my name implies, I am a 28 year native Chicagoan. I moved to Iowa 14 years ago and I just ended up staying; school, family, job..ya know. But here I am with a a full time job- I work from home all day on the computer. It is demanding but I can have some flexibility in hours. I work for a large company and am a remote home worker in the Informaton Technology industry. It isn't all that great and I'd like to get out of it someday. Before I got into this computer stuff, back in chicago I was a high-rise construction worker for a number of years, and before that I worked in several factories. The an abrupt change and I decided to go to school here in Iowa. That was when I was 28, now I am 45.

So why I am going into snow plowing? Well, I got divorced a couple of years back. I have this large F250 Super Duty, 2003, I used to pull my daughter's horses with, but she is grown and not horses are no longer in the picture. So I got to looking at my paycheck some time back and realized that my taxes for filing as a single guy were insane! I figured I would start a side business and crate a little tax deduction as well as provide a local servie and feel good about getting out and doing something that I could see immediate results from and interact with more people.

I created an LLC a couple of weeks back. Last week I picked up a really sweet Western 8.5 foot v-plow, just two years old. I can't tell you how strangley excited I was when I picked it up.